this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Psychology - Databases



Primary Contact:
John Osinski
Email:
osinskij@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4271
IM Chat Name:
AIM:

Start Here

Other Suggestions

AgeLine
Searchable database from AARP containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
Free
1977– present
(more information)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present

Biological Abstracts
Leading index to worldwide journal literature in the life sciences and one of the most important resources to biologists.
Print Version: 1926-1968
1969 - Present
(more information)

Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.

Buros Institute
Buros Institute Test Reviews Online. Online database for locating tests and reviews by keyword, subject category, or alphabetical list.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. 1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
CD from MIT - please ask at Reference Desk for assistance. Online version also available - not available in full-text, but provides good abstracts and cross-referenced bibliographies.

Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record .
Free
(more information)

Health Source Plus: Consumer Edition
Consumer health journals, and general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Subjects covered include behavioral health, cardiology, sports medicine and more.
Indexing 1984-current; full text 1990-current
(more information)

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)

Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Volume 9 - present
(more information)

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.
1954 - present
(more information)

Web of Knowledge
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content.

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: February 27, 2007