PAR 235 - Introduction to Old Testament
|
|
|
|
Some search options for the library's catalog are keyword, subject, author, or title. You may want to try the subject heading "Bible O.T." Or you may want to do a subject search on the actual book you are researching.
Article Databases/Indexes
Article indexes provide citations
(e.g., author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to
identify articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and a small
handful of online indexes provide selected full text of the actual article. The
Library does not own every article cited in each index so remember to check the
Library Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was published in.
CD-ROM: (Request at the Reference Desk; you must
search these databases in the library.) PRINT:
Biblical Studies--Indexes journal articles and essays dealing with
biblical passages and teachings.
Religious & Theological Abstracts--Indexes and abstracts religious
periodical literature.
Religion Index One
Index BL1 .I5
Old Testament Abstracts
Index BS410 .O42
ONLINE:
Humanites Index
Citations
to art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and
world history. Silver Platter
EBSCOHost - Academic Search FullTEXT Elite
Indexing
and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities,
education and more.
Some fulltext.
InfoTrac OneFile
Indexing
and abstracts of some peer reviewed/scholarly journals on a wide range of
topics. Some fulltext.
Web-Site Evaluation
The reliability and quality of
information from Web sources has created much debate in the academic world.
Researchers must always remember that the Web is a vast, unregulated information
resource that ANYONE with the proper tools and a little money can create a site
on the Web. When viewing a site for research purposes, users can and should
perform a Web-site analysis by consider the some of the following points taken
from Thinking
Critically about World Wide Web Resources - UCLA College Library:
Who is the author of the page or site? Does the author appear to be qualified to
write about the topic?
Is the site affiliated with any institution, company, or organization? If so,
does this affiliation add bias to the information? Or, does it suggest that the
source is credible?
Does the information seem unreasonably or unfairly biased in any way? (Avoid any
sites that appear to be advertising a product or service.)
Who is the intended audience? Is the information for a specialized or general
audience?
When was the site created or last modified? Is the design of the site effective?
Is it easy to navigate the site? Do links to other sites work?
|
|
Helpful Information
Off Campus Access to Library
Resources