Diaries, journals, speeches, interviews, letters, memos, manuscripts and other papers in which individuals describe events in which they were participants or observers.
Memoirs and autobiographies. These are generally less reliable since they are usually written long after events occurred and may be distorted by bias, dimming memory or the revised perspective that may come with hindsight. On the other hand, they are sometimes the only source for certain information.
Records of organizations and agencies of government. The minutes, reports, correspondence, etc. of an organization or agency serve as an ongoing record of the activity and thinking of that organization or agency. Many kinds of records (births, deaths, marriages; permits and licenses issued; census data; etc.) document conditions in the society.
Published materials (books, magazine and journal articles, newspaper articles) written at the time about a particular event. While these are sometimes accounts by participants, in most cases they are written by journalists or other observers. The important thing is to distinguish between material written at the time of an event as a kind of report, and material written much later, as historical analysis.
Photographs, audio recordings and moving pictures drawings, paintings, political cartoons or video recordings, documenting what happened.
Artifacts of all kinds: physical objects, buildings, furniture, tools, appliances and household items, clothing, toys.
If you are attempting to find evidence documenting the mentality or psychology of a time, or of a group (evidence of a world view, a set of attitudes, or the popular understanding of an event or condition), the most obvious source is public opinion polls taken at the time. Since these are generally very limited in availability and in what they reveal, however, it is also possible to make use of ideas and images conveyed in the mass media, and even in literature, film, popular fiction, self-help literature, textbooks, etc. Again, the point is to use these sources, written or produced at the time, as evidence of how people were thinking.
*The first section of this guide was adapted from "Library Research Using Primary Sources." University of California, Berkeley. <http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/PrimarySources.html>
STRATEGIES FOR FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Before you start your search, make a list of the
terms, places, people and specific events about which you want to find primary
resources. Keep this list handy and add to it as you learn more about the
topic.
Make another list of the kinds of primary sources you hope to find or think will be available for the topic. For instance, if you think newspapers are appropriate to your research, put them on the list, and consider which newspapers would be most useful. Randall Library's holdings of historical newspapers is limited, but you may wish to make a research trip to another library or request a microfilm copy of the newspaper through interlibrary loan.
The following strategies are particularly useful in using Randall Library resources.
USE ONLINE CATALOGS
For
access to materials in Randall Library: includes sophisticated search
capabilities like limiting by language and format or combining subject headings.
Also allows users to send search results to their email addresses.
WorldCat is the union catalog of books, web resources, and other material located worldwide cataloged by OCLC member libraries (over 45,000 libraries.) Books in the catalog are generally available via Interlibrary Loan (unless they are considered rare), and many of the websites are freely available. The database also includes references to manuscript and archival material that would require a visit to the repository that owns it -- but at least you know where it is.
Search
Tips:
Keyword searches will likely retrieve something
on your subject. This type of search looks in practically all parts of the
catalog record, and is the only way to access the data in the Contents Notes
field of records. However, if you are not using the terms catalogers use
to identify a subject, keyword searches may actually retrieve fewer items
than a subject search.
Subject searches use a controlled
vocabulary, bring more consistency to searches, organizing records by
subtopics. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used in both
the local catalog and in WorldCat.
Primary Source Subheadings:
There are several subject subheadings used to identify books or other resources
that are compilations of primary source material. Look for:
| correspondence diaries interviews literary collections |
songs and music sources speeches, addresses, etc.* treaties |
*These
subheadings are typically used under Subject Headings for individuals or terms
describing groups of people, e.g., Soldiers.
How to Identify Primary Sources in the Online Catalog:
Step 1:
Subject search for your topic, e.g., Women -- Employment or France
-- History -- Revolution
Step 2: At the top of the results page
click on Limit/Sort
Step 3: Click on arrow next to Words
in the Author and change it to Words in the Subject
Step 4: Type in (choose one): Sources
Personal narratives
Pictorial works
Posters
Treaties
Literary collections
Songs and music
Step 5: Click on Limit/Sort items
retrieved using above data, button
Search country names as subjects. Under
country names with the subheading History, you will often find further
chronological subheadings, e.g. China--History--1928-1937. Many of
the collections of foreign or diplomatic relations documents cover periods of
time, so search for these volumes by country name with the subheading
"Foreign relations." For example:
Soviet
Union--Foreign relations
Russia--Foreign relations
Great Britain--Foreign relations
Identify key participants and publications associated with your topic:
When
looking at reference sources, pick out names of people, organizations, and
governmental agencies that were participants, and any publications such as
reports, newsletters, magazines, pamphlets, etc. that they produced in
conjunction with the events or developments you are researching.
Author searches for the key participants (individuals, organizations,
agencies or other groups) will retrieve records for materials that were written
or produced by them either at the time of the event or later will, in most
cases, be primary sources.
Subject
searches paired with the subheadings identified above with an asterisk (*) will
also retrieve primary resources, e.g., Wilson Woodrow
correspondence.
To determine other appropriate subject headings associated with your topic you can:
Newspapers on Microfilm (Index availability)
London Times (Palmer's Index to the Times Index Collection AI21.T458)
New York Times (New York Times Index Index
Collection AI21 .N45)
You may want to use this index to make sure you find
articles you can retrieve through the online version.
United States Congressional Record (Index at beginning of the first reel for
each session of Congress.
Filed with periodicals on microfilm)
Wilmington Morning Star (no index available)
Print Indexes to Periodical Literature
International
Index to Periodicals (Index
Collection AI3 .R5) Indexes selected scholarly periodicals, 1907-1965..
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (Index Collection AI3 .P7) Indexes
popular magazines, 1802-1907.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Index Collection AI3 .R48) Indexes
selected popular magazines beginning in 1890.
3. USE BIBLIOGRAPHIES & REFERENCE
COLLECTION FINDING AIDS. For example:
American Diaries. Reference Collection CT214 .A7 1983
And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English. Reference
Collection CT25 .H38 1987
Civil War Eyewitnesses: An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Articles,
1955-1986.
Reference Collection E601 .C64 1988
Guide and Index to Women's Diaries: A Readex Microfilm Collection from the
Files of the American Antiquarian Society.
Reference Collection CT3260 .A434 (New England) and
Reference Collection CT3260 .A436 (Western)
Notable Women in World History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and
Autobiographies.
Reference Collection CT3230 .A32 1998
Those Who Were There: Eyewitness Accounts of the War in Southeast Asia,
1956-1975 & Aftermath.
Reference Collection DS559.5 .T46 1984
Women's Diaries Journals and Letters: An Annotated Bibliography. Reference
Collection CT3230 .C55 1989
The library also places guides to microfilm
manuscript collections in the Reference Collection, using the same call number
as the microform sets. Here is a very selective sampling of the microform
sets available:
FBI File on Eleanor Roosevelt. Microfilm E807.1 .R48
Microfilm Edition of the Pre-Revolutionary Diaries, 1635-1774.
Microfilm E187 .G85
Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century. Microfilm
HQ1438 .A13 S64
U. S. Military Intelligence Reports: China, 1911-1941. Microfilm
DS773 .U58 1982a
USE PRIMARY SOURCE REPOSITORIES ON
THE WEB (Free or licensed by UNCW or NCLIVE)
An excellent guide to finding and using
primary sources in the web environment can be found at:http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/
Be sure to visit these sites, if the subject
scope of your search is appropriate:
Internet History Sourcebooks http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
A series of sourcebooks providing electronic access to
documents in the public domain.
American Memory Project http://memory.loc.gov/
The Library of Congress digital contains text,
photographs, audio and video on U.S. History. Be sure to try the American
Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/nfhtml/nfhome.html
North American Women's Letters and Diaries. (On Randall Library
Database page.)
For a more complete list, use the library's Subject
Research Guide for History.
5. USE BIBLIOGRAPHIES & FOOTNOTES IN SECONDARY SOURCES
Historical research is not a strictly linear process. You should make a research plan in the form of a list of tools to use, but as you delve into catalogs, indexes and other resources you may need to come back to those you thought you had exhausted. You may learn a new term to search or find a reference to a specific publication you did not know about earlier. Do not isolate your search for primary sources from your search for secondary ones, because the secondary sources also serve as a finding aid for more primary sources you didn't find through the catalogs or indexes.
Secondary sources may refer to sources (both primary and secondary) in these ways:
6. CONSIDER VISITING A MANUSCRIPT REPOSITORY
You may find records for manuscript material in WorldCat that is held by
repositories nearby. These manuscript repositories also have online guides
to finding aids.
UNCW
Special Collections: http://library.uncwil.edu/special/home.html
UNC-Chapel Hill Manuscripts Department: http://www.lib.unc.edu/mss/finding.html
Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/specoll/