this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

History - Databases



Primary Contact:
Sue Cody
Email:
codys@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7409
IM Chat Name:
AIM: sueann53

Start Here

Other Suggestions

ABSEES
American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies. Citations to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations.
1939 - present
(more information)

Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
1975 – present
(more information)

African American Studies Center (access to this resource will end on August 31, 2008)
Oxford University Press combines combines the content of several reference resources on the African American experience into one digital resource.

Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
(more information)

Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1969 - 1990
(more information)

American Foreign Relations Since 1600
A team of distinguished historians has culled the most important published and unpublished works in U.S diplomatic literature and thoroughly annotated them. The work comprehensively covers five centuries, from America's colonial era into the 21st century.

American Slavery
"American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography" is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States complied from nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
(more information)

Ancient Greek Texts
CD from TLG Workplace. See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.
750BC - AD600

Annals of American History
Includes over 2,000 primary documents from U.S. history —the original words of history-makers. Read Christopher Columbus on the "Discovery of the New World," Davy Crockett on "Frontier Politics," and much more.
1493 - present
(more information)

Anthropological Index Online
Search engine to Citations of anthropology articles from the Royal Anthropological Institute
Free
1970 - present
(more information)

Anthropological Literature
Citations to anthropology and archaeology, some art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
One simultaneous user
1880's - present
(more information)

Army Official Records on CD
Also known by its full title, War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Oficial Records of the Union and Confederate Armies comprises 128 books, averaging over 1,000 pages each. These books are the key to our knowledge of four years of conflict and of three million men who served, fought, and died. Please see the reference desk for help with this resource.

ARTFL
ARTFL consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. A Provençal database was recently added that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
(more information)

Arts and Humanities Search
Over 1,000 arts and humanities journal are indexed. Cited references are searchable as well. Randall Library has coverage for 2000-present.

ATLA Religion Database
The American Theological Library Association Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
One simultaneous user
1949 - present
(more information)

Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA covers the current international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).
4 simultaneous users
1973-current
(more information)

Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Index to biographical information.
2 simultaneous users
1993 - present
(more information)

Books In Print
Records describe in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers. Includes thousands of full-text book reviews from sources including Choice, Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
1979 - present.
(more information)

Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
This database offers images, text and multimedia representing a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums. It highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms.
(more information)

CenStats
Custom reports from Census Bureau.
Free
(more information)

ChoiceReviews.online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Sept. 1988 - present
(more information)

Clase and Periodica
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Clase: 1975 - present
Periodica: 1978 - present
(more information)

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
1915 - present (varies by publication)
(more information)

CQ Electronic Library
The definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
1972 - present

Dictionary of National Biography - (DNB)
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.

Digital National Security Archive
DNSA is a full-image database of declassified documents on U. S. foreign relations and military policy since 1945.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)

EconLit
Provides citations to Journals, books, and working papers on economics.
1969 - present
(more information)

eHRAF Archaeology
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.
(more information)

eHRAF World Cultures
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Enciclopedia Universal en Español
Features 47,000 articles; 8,300 photos and images; 390 maps and 500 tables. It is a great resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and anyone learning Spanish.
(more information)

Encyclopedia of American Government
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (EAG) provides answers to the full range of questions that students, government professionals, interested citizens, and other researchers have about the institutions of U.S. government. Based on the CQ Press ready-reference American Government A to Z series, EAG offers thousands of concise, up-to-date explanations of the who, how, and why of American democracy.
(more information)

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information)

Europa World
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. See the reference desk for username and password information. 910-962-3760
(more information)

FIAF International Film Archive Database
Covers film literature from 300 periodicals since 1972, and includes the FIAF thesaurus. Additionally, the database features print sources for 22,000 silent films, a bibliography of FIAF members' publications and a directory of film and TV documentation collections.
4 simultaneous users
1972 - present
(more information)

Film Literature Index Online
Film Literature Index Online annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Free
1972-2001
(more information)

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
(more information)

Government Periodicals Index
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences. 

GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.

Greenwood Digital Collection
Greenwood Digital Collection includes the series Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.

Grove Art Online
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. Offers original essays on each subject by scholars in the field. Image links: Originally commissioned maps, diagrams, line drawings; Art Resources.
One simultaneous user
(more information)

Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2d edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2d edition; 3 volumes).
One simultaneous user
(more information)

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Journal article citations and citations to books, along with abstracts. Arts, humanities, and social sciences.

HarpWeek
Harper's Weekly; the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II.
1857-1877
(more information)

HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest presents a varied and in-depth set of data for genealogists and historians. The database is designed to help library patrons search and use data from all of the U.S. Censuses until 1930, an index of 6,500 local history and genealogy periodicals (PERSI), a database of Revolutionary War pension and bounty-land warrant, plus the full text of 25,000 local histories and family histories.
(more information)

Historic Documents
Contains 32 volumes of primary sources, includiing approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information)

Humanities International Index
Covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
(more information)

In the First Person:  An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives
An index to English language personal narratives published or available on the web.  It aims to be "the most comprehensive archive of social memory ever created." Some of the links are to subscription databases Randall Library does not subscribe to.

IngentaConnect
Table of contents of journals and document delivery.
1988 - present
(more information)

International data base
A computerized data bank containing statistical table of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
Free
1950 - present

International Medieval Bibliography
Bibliography of articles in journals and conference proceedings, essay collections, etc. Worldwide coverage. Click on the Enter Databases button. On the next page click on the "Go" button.
3 simultaneous users - Please log out when finished
1967 - present
(more information)

Irish History Online
Searchable bibliography of Irish history from earliest times to the present. Established in conjuction with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography (see below.)

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)

LexisNexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive U.S. legislative information.
(more information)

LexisNexis Statistical
U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
ASI: 1973 - present
SRI: 1980 - present
IIS: 1983 - present
(more information)

LINC
Free service from the North Carolina central repository of demographic and statistical data.
1960's - present
(more information)

Literature in Context
A collection of primary source material and related resources associated with 20 major literary works.
(more information)

MasterFILE Premier (EbscoHost)
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

Military & Government Collection (EbscoHost)
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies.
1990's - present
(more information)

Nations of the World (nations and associated jurisdictions)
Full text of laws, regulations and court decisions for different nations of the world.
Free

NetLibrary
Please see instructions. You must register from an on-campus location before using this collection of electronic books. Search the Randall Library catalog.
1963 - present
(more information)

New York Times Archive
Digital archives for the New York Times
1851 - 2001
(more information)

Newsbank- America's Newspapers
Includes articles from 15 North Carolina newspapers and approximately 15 from other states. Dates of coverage vary, but nothing earlier than 1985.

Newspaper Source
Major national newspapers, 1995-date.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Colonial to 1950
Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.
(more information)

North Carolina ECHO
Exploring Cultural Heritage Online. Access to special collections in North Carolina libraries, archives, and museums.

North Carolina Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of North Carolina - short entries
Free

North Carolina Periodicals Index
Selective index of articles in North Carolina periodicals.
(more information)

OED (Oxford English Dictionary Online)
Oxford English Dictionary online. Includes the history of the use of English words.
more information on OED Online
)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
From the earliest times to the year 2000.

Oxford Journals
Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields. Among the history journals included are: English Historical Review, French History, German History, History Workshop Journal, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Journal of Islamic Studies, Oral History Review, Past & Present, and Twentieth Century British History.

PAIS -- See Public Affairs Information Service.

Palmer's Full Text Online
Palmer's Full Text Online gives students and researchers access to approximately one million articles from The Times®; covering almost a century of British and world history.
1875-1905
(more information)

Pennsylvania Gazette
Published in Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
1728 - 1800

Philosopher's Index
Provides bibliographic access to abstracts from more than 550 journals.
1940 - present
(more informaton)

Polling the Nations
Public opinion polls.
One simultaneous user
1986 - present
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Includes over 50 journals in history.
(more information)

ProQuest Newspapers
Includes:
- Christian Science Monitor(1988 to present)
- Los Angeles Times(1988 to present)
- New York Times(1999 to present)
- Wall Street Journal, and
- The Washington Post(1996 to present)
(more information)

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International
This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
1972 - present
(more information)

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexing for the most popular general-interest periodicals published primarily in the United States, 1890-1982. (1 user at a time.)

Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
1948 - present
(more information)

Royal Historical Society Bibliography
The Royal Historical Society's online bibliography provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available.
55 B.C. - present
(Ask a Librarian for help with this resource)

Sage eReference
Sage provides full-text access to 45 specialized encyclopedias. Among the titles of particular interest for history are:
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopidia
Encyclopedia of African American Society
Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Encyclopedia of War and American Society
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West

Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn maps of North Carolina
Late 19th - Mid-20th Centuries
(more information)

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
CD-ROM Contains the records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. You can use this cd-rom to track information by time period and geographic region and to conduct keyword searches. Ask at the reference desk for help with this resource.

WDI (World Development Indicators) Online (choose Institutional Subscribers) or try here.
Provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from, where data is available.
1960 - 2005
(more information)

Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Especially useful for citation searching. Our subscription includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 2002-date.
(more information)

Wiley InterScience
Provides full text access to over 125 history journals and hundreds more in related fields.

World Almanac
Select Reference, then World Almanac.
(more information)

World FactBook
Database of country profiles produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Free
(more information)

WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
1975 - present

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: September 29, 2008