this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Film Programming Guide

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl@uncw.edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncwil.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Spring 2006
Mondays, 3-5pm
Randall #2080

 

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

 

Return to top

Recommended Film Programming Resources

Topics

Art Houses, Repertory Theaters, Archive Theaters, Microcinemas

American Cinematheque ­ Los Angeles
http://www.egyptiantheatre.com/

Brattle Theater, Cambridge, MA
http://www.brattlefilm.org/brattlefilm/index.html

Brooklyn Academy of Music Rose Cinemas
http://www.bam.org/events/bamcinematek.aspx

Cinematheque Ontario ­ Ontario, Canada
http://www.e.bell.ca/filmfest/cinematheque/home.asp

Film Forum ­ New York City
http://www.filmforum.org/

Gene Siskel Film Center ­ Chicago
http://www.siskelfilmcenter.org/

Harvard Film Archive ­Cambridge, MA
http://www.harvardfilmarchive.org/

Other Cinema ­ San Francisco
http://www.othercinema.com/

Pacific Film Archive ­ Berkeley, CA
http://www.bampfa.berkeley.edu/pfa_programs/index.html

Roxie Cinema ­ San Francisco
http://www.roxie.com/

Return to Topics

Distributors

Canyon Cinema
http://www.canyoncinema.com/

Criterion Pictures
http://www.criterionpic.com/cpl/lcl_enghometable.html

Documentary Educational Resources
http://www.der.org/

Film-Makers' Cooperative
http://www.film-makerscoop.com/

Kino International
http://www.kino.com/

New Yorker Films
http://www.newyorkerfilms.com/

Palm Pictures
http://www.palmpictures.com/film/index.html

Rialto Pictures
http://www.rialtopictures.com/in_theaters.html

Sony Pictures Repertory
http://www.sonypicturesrepertory.com/

Swank Motion Pictures
http://www.swank.com/

Thinkfilm
http://www.thinkfilmcompany.com/

Women Make Movies
http://www.wmm.com/

Zeitgeist Films
http://www.zeitgeistfilms.com/index.php

Return to Topics

Film Festivals

Cucalorus Film Festival
http://www.cucalorus.org/

London Film Festival
http://www.lff.org.uk/

New York Film Festival
http://www.filmlinc.com/nyff/nyff.htm

Sundance Film Festival
http://festival.sundance.org/2006/

Toronto Film Festival
http://www.e.bell.ca/filmfest/2005/home.asp

Wisconsin Film Festival
http://www.wifilmfest.org

Return to Topics

University Campus Film Schedules

Alma College Hispanic Film Series
http://www.alma.edu/academics/departments/humanities/languages/spanish/hfs

Augsburg Native American Film Series
http://www.augsburg.edu/home/ais/filmseries/

Boston College Irish Studies Film Series
http://www.bc.edu/centers/irish/studies/news/film/

Centre College International Film Series
http://web.centre.edu/ifs/

Claremont Mckenna College Thursday Night Films
http://gould.claremontmckenna.edu/film-series/

Coker College International Film Series
http://www.coker.edu/film/index.htm

Colby College Film
http://www.colby.edu/news_events/calendar/films.cfm

Colby-Sawyer College Human Rights Film Series
http://www.colby-sawyer.edu/news/HRFspring06.html

College of the Holy Cross Kimball Film Series
http://www.holycross.edu/publicaffairs/features/2005-2006/kimball_spring06

College of the Mainland Great Film Series
http://www.com.edu/campus-life/filmseries.cfm

Cy-Fair College WOW 2006 Spring Film Series
http://faculty.nhmccd.edu/robobrien/Film_Series.html

Davidson College German Film
http://www.davidson.edu/academic/german/films.html

Eckerd College Environmental Film Festival
http://www.eckerd.edu/film/index.php?f=home

Eckerd College International Cinema Series
http://www.eckerd.edu/film/international.php?f=home2

Henderson Community College Film Series
http://www.henderson.kctcs.edu/life/film.asp

Lakeland Community College International Film Festival
http://www.lakelandcc.edu/ACADEMIC/Faculty/SantosR/film_past.htm

Marietta College River Cities Film Series
http://www.marietta.edu/rcfs/

Mercyhurst College Film
http://pac.mercyhurst.edu/events.php?type=film

MiraCosta College International Film Series
http://www.miracosta.edu/Instruction/InternationalLanguages/internationalfilmseries.htm

Missouri State University Film Series
http://www.missouristate.edu/coal/filmseries.asp

Montgomery College Film Series
http://www.cy-faircollege.com/Templates/Content.aspx?pid=16171

Peninsula College Magic of Cinema College Film Series
http://www.pc.ctc.edu/news/performance/cinema.asp

Palm Beach Community College Film Series at Stage West
http://www.pbcc.cc.fl.us/arts/duncan/stagewestfilms.asp

Rehoboth Beach Film Society
http://www.rehobothfilm.com/StudentFilmSeries.html

San Francisco State University College of Creative Arts
http://www.collegeofcreativearts.org/visual_arts/cinema_events.html

St. John's College French Film Series
http://www.stjohnscollege.edu/asp/main.aspx?page=6836

Stanford Film Society
http://www.stanford.edu/group/sfs/

University of Colorado at Boulder International Film Series
http://www.internationalfilmseries.com/index.php

University of Louisiana Student Union International Film Series
http://studentunion.louisiana.edu/films/

University of Notre Dame Film, Television, and Theatre Film Screenings
http://www.nd.edu/~ftt/filmscreenings.shtml

University of Texas at San Antonio Film Series at Learning Communities
http://www.utsa.edu/lc/reading/films.htm

University of Wisconsin-Madison Cinematheque
http://cinema.wisc.edu/

Washington College Film Series
http://newsroom.washcoll.edu/filmseries.html

Washington State Community College River Cities Film Series
http://www.wscc.edu/community/rivercitiesfilms.asp?section=campus

Westchester Community College Friday Night Film Series
http://www.sunywcc.edu/events/smart_arts/sa_film.htm

Wilson College Film Series
http://www.princeton.edu/~wilsonco/filmseries.htm

Wisconsin Union Directorate (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
http://www.union.wisc.edu/film/index.html

Wofford College Foreign Language World Film Series
http://www.wofford.edu/foreignLanguage/worldFilmSeries.asp

Return to Topics

Film Databases

Flicker (Experimental Film Resources)
http://www.hi-beam.net

IndieWire Box Office Tracker Table (for 1/02/06; use drop-down menu to change dates)
http://www.indiewire.com/boxoffice/060102.html

Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

Metacritic.com
http://www.metacritic.com/
"Metacritic® compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, books, music, television and games. Our unique Metascores ® show the critical consensus at a glance by taking a weighted average of critic grades."

Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup
A searchable database of over 460,000 movie reviews.

Rotten Tomatoes (Movie Review Database)
http://www.rottentomatoes.com

This Week in Avant-garde Cinema
http://www.hi-beam.net/whats.html

Return to Topics

News

indieWIRE
http://www.indiewire.com/

Masters of Cinema
http://www.mastersofcinema.org/
A wealth of information about major and/or cult directors, featuring articles and their "Worldwide DVD Calendar" of DVD release dates.

Return to Topics

Professional Organizations

Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
http://www.cmstudies.org/
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.

Return to Topics

Online Journals

Film International
http://www.filmint.nu/
"Film International focuses on longer essays with in-depth-analysis, but it also features interviews, festival reports and an extensive review section on books, special DVD editions and films at the cinema." It is indexed in FIAF.

Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/
A film studies journal, salon, and portal, focusing on the relationship between film and philosophy.

Scope: An Online Journal of Film Studies
http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/film/journal/
From the University of Nottingham, an online, peer-reviewed journal; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Senses of Cinema
http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Return to Topics or Return to top


Last updated: 22 March, 2006 12:58