Film Studies - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Liza Palmer |
| Email: |
| palmerl@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-4234 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: lizajpalmer |
EBSCOHost
For Film searching, click on any combination of the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier,
- MasterFILE Premier,
- America: History & Life,
- Art Abstracts,
- Communication & Mass Media Complete,
- Film & Literature Television Index with Full Text,
- Historical Abstracts,
- Humanities International Index,
- MLA International Bibliography.
Film Literature Index Online
Film Literature Index Online annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
1976-2001
(more information)
IIPA Full Text
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text is a performing arts journal resource with nearly 350,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text, covering film, theatre and dance.
4 simultaneous users
1864 - present
(more information)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
For movie reviews and art news from magazines and newspapers.
1970's - present
(more information)ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
Gale Literature Resource Center
Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
(more information on Literature Resource Center)
Gale Literary Index
Master index to the print series. (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, et al.)
(more information)
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOHost Platform)
Indexes scholarly literature of world history
1955 - present
(more information on Historical Abstracts)
Movie Review Query Engine
A searchable database of web pages offering over 380,000 reviews available for over 38,000 film titles. This is a good resource for Film Study researchers.
OED Online
Oxford English Dictionary online.
(more information)
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: 9 April, 2008 19:32