Education - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Kathryn Batten |
| Email: |
| battenk@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7291 |
| Fax: |
| 910-962-3421 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: KatBatKitty |
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present
Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
1991 - present
(more information)
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
ERIC via Institution of Education Sciences
Free database of citations to articles and reports in education.
1966 to present
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.
Free
(more information)
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)
MAS Ultra
General research database for high school-junior college students. Includes database Essential Documents in American History.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Volume 9 - present
(more information)
Middle Search Plus
Designed to assist middle and junior high school students in learning how to research current events and information on a wide range of general topics.
Novelist
An online readers' advisory tool.
(more information)
Primary Search
Indexing and abstracting of 116 children's magazines.
1984 - present
ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.
WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: February 21, 2007