For more help
Ask a Librarian.
Searching Mergent Online
Mergent Online Basic Search for a Company
Advanced Searching
Country Profiles
Mergent Online News Reports
How to Find EDGAR Filings
Print/Save
Mergent Online Basic Search for a Company
1. Define the Basic Search by entering the first few letters of a Company Name or
Ticker Symbol. You can search for multiple companies or tickers by using a comma
to separate the entries.
2. Click on Submit
3. If your Search Results return multiple hits, click on the company for which you are searching. For International companies, the name of the country will follow the company name in parentheses ( ). Dun &Bradstreet Million Dollar Database Plus companies will be listed
after the complete list of all Mergent database companies.
Advanced Searching
1. Click on the Advanced Search button
2. Define the Advanced Search by selecting the operator(s) and entering an
appropriate value(s). If you are not sure what to enter in
Primary SIC,
Any
SIC,
NAICs,
Exchange,
State, or
State of
Incorporation, these options have a "Look Up", which links to a
listing of their respective codes or abbreviations.
Note #1: If you wish to search, for example, on all SIC Codes beginning with "15" (i.e., 1501, 1532, 1545 etc.) please enter only 15 (no other operator is necessary). The search results for this query will yield all companies with SIC codes beginning with "15".
Do not enter any SIC codes which end in "0". SIC codes ending in "0" are category headers for all other SIC codes ending in single digits and will return no results.
3. Click on Submit This information is comparable to that found in the following sources:
U.S. Companies
America's Corporate Families. - Ref HG4057 .A147
Directory of Corporate Affiliations. - Ready Ref HG4057 .A219
Hoover's Guide to Private Companies. - Ref HF3010 .H66
Hoover's Handbook of American Business. - Ref HG4057 .A28617
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies – Ref HG4057.A28618
Mergent/Moody's Industrial Manual. - Ref HG4961 .M67
Million Dollar Directory. - Ref HC102 .D8 (vol.1-5, 1992-1996)
Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions. - Ref. HG4501 .S7664
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and
Executives. - Ref HG4057 .A4
Wards Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies. - Ref HG4057.A56
Ward's Private Company Profiles. - Ref HF5035.W37 1994
North Carolina Companies only:
Directory of North Carolina Companies. - Ref HC107.N8 D5
Directory of North Carolina Manufacturing Firms. - Ref T12 .N6
State Business Directory. - Ref HF5065.N67 S73
Directory of North Carolina Companies. - Ref HC107.N8 D5
Directory of North Carolina Manufacturing Firms. - Ref T12 .N6
State Business Directory. – Ref HF5065.N67 S73
International Companies
Asian Company Handbook. - Ref HG4009 .A84
Directory of Corporate Affiliations. - Ready Ref HG4057 .A219
Hoover's Handbook of World Business. - Ref HG4009 .H66
Mergent/Moody's International Manual. - Ref HG4006 .M66
Country Profiles
1. Make your selection from the country list.
2. Click on the Index bar to move through the alphabetic listing. The following sections are covered in a country profile:
History
A brief description of the country's history
Geography Location; Cities; Area; Natural Resources; Irrigated land; Environmental issues
PeoplePopulation; Age structure; Population growth rate; Birth and Death rates; Net migration rate; Nationality; Ethnic groups; Religions; Languages; Education; Work Type; Branches; Administrative subdivisions; Political parties; Central government budget; Principal government officials; Principal U.S. officials
Economy
Economic overview; GDP Information; Industries; Agricultural products; Exports; Imports; Debt; Economic aid; Exchange rates
Stock Exchange Information
Street Address; Postal address; Telephone; Fax; Email; Web address; Trading hours; Officers; Main indices; Number of companies listed; Stock Exchange growth rate
Filing practices
A brief description of the filing requirements of publicly trading companies.
This information is comparable to that found in the following sources:
Background Notes. State Department US Documents S 1.123: (also a file on the NTDB)
available online
Background Notes http://www.state.gov/www/background_notes/.
Big Emerging Markets. - Ref. HF3000 .B54 1996
Country
Commercial Guides . http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/business/com_guides/
(State Department)
Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade.
http://www.state.gov/www/issues/economic/trade_reports/ (State Department)
Country Studies/Area Handbooks . http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html (Library of Congress)
Culturgrams:
The Nations Around Us. - Ref GT150. C85 1995 (2 vols.)
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World. Ref HF1416. M78 1997
Ernst and Young Doing Business In... http://www.ey.com/GLOBAL/gcr.nsf/EYPassport/Welcome-Doing_Business_In-EYPassport
Europa World Year Book. Ref JN1 .E85
Exporters' Encyclopedia. Ref HF3011 .E9
International Trade Association http://www.usatrade.gov/website/ccg.nsf.
Portrait of the Regions. - Ref HA1107.5 .P67 1993 (European Economic Community)
Statesman's Year-Book. - Ready Ref JA51 .S7. Earlier editions in the Reference Collection.
World Economic and Business Review. Ref HC10 .W7975 1991
World Factbook
(CIA) http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/. Also Ref G122 .U56.
(also a file on the NTDB) Earlier editions, US Documents PrEx3.15:
World Markets Desk Book: A Region-by-Region Survey of Global Trade Opportunities.
- Ref HF1009.5 .T85 1993
World Trade Almanac. Ref HF1379 .W67 1996-97
Mergent Online News Reports
1. Access News Reports through the link on the home page of FISonline.
2. The News Reports page contains a heading for each Mergent Manual. Each manual
heading contains a link for the News Reports index, and the News Report itself. Click on applicable link to load News Reports.
How to Find EDGAR Filings
1. Click on the
Search EDGAR button
2. Enter the company search criteria in the Company Name
or Ticker Symbol fields (please do not enter both)
3. Enter the Filing Date criteria:
Today
Past Month
Current Quarter
Last 12 Months
A Specific Date Range
4. To search by Filing Type, enter a Filing Type from the selection list or add a new Filing Type to Other.
5. To search on a word or phrase, enter a word or phrase in Full Text Search.
6. Click on Submit (once your EDGAR search results have been returned, you can
choose to download the document to Microsoft Word for formatting and printing).
7. To set up EDGAR Alerts, select where it says "Click 'here' to setup email alerts." This will lead you to the EDGAR Email Alerts page. On this page, you can enter an e-mail address and the Ticker Symbols (separated by a comma) for which you would like to receive alerts.
Note #1: You may enter only one email address at a time. Any duplicate email addresses will not be accepted.
Note #2: Each email alert will accept a maximum of 100 characters in the Ticker section (this equals an estimated 30 tickers).
Note #3: There will be a 24-hour delay for each email account set up.
Print/Save
Printing
1. Click on the frame you wish to print.
2. Use your browser's print button to print reports.
Saving
1. Click on the frame you wish to save
2. Select
Save Frame from your browser's file menu
3. Choose the drive and folder you would to which you would like to save your
document
4. Save file with .htm file extension to save as an HTML file or with .txt
extension to save as a plain text file
5. To retrieve files, those with .htm extension should be re-opened in your
browser, those with .txt extension should be re-opened in a word processor
Last Update: May 19, 2008