Guide to Company Information using Randall Library
Print Sources
U.S. Companies
America's Corporate Families. REF HG4057
.A147
Directory of Corporate Affiliations. Ready REF HG4057 .A219
Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbook. REF HF5053 .D86
Hoover's Guide to Private Companies. REF HF3010 .H66
Hoover's Handbook of American Business. REF HG4057 .A28617
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies. REF HG4057.A28618
Mergent/Moody's Industrial Manual. REF HG4961 .M67
Million Dollar Directory. REF HC102 .D8 (vol.1-5, 1992-1996)
Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions. REF HG4501 .S7664
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, & Executives. REF HG4057 .A4
Wards Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public
Companies. REF HG4057.A56
Ward's Private Company Profiles REF HF5035.W37 1994
North Carolina Companies
Directory of North Carolina Companies. REF HC107.N8 D5
Directory of North Carolina Manufacturing Firms. REF T12 .N6
State Business Directory. REF HF5065.N67 S73
International Companies
Asian Company Handbook. REF HG4009 .A84
Directory of Corporate Affiliations. Ready REF HG4057 .A219
Hoover's Handbook of World Business. REF HG4009 .H66
Mergent/Moody's International Manual. REF HG4006 .M66
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives.
REF HG4057 .A4
Company Overview. Generally the overview includes a brief history of the company, a description of
the company's primary business, products and services. It lists the officers and
locations and much of the directory information. Brief historical financial
statistics are given. It may list a company's competitors and give a financial
forecast.
To find directory information select one of the following Print Sources or go to
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe, click Business, then Company Financial,
type in company name, select a Source from the pull down menu, select Date
from the pull down menu, then click Search.
Standard Industrial
Classification Code SIC
All companies are classified by the federal government into categories called
industry classifications based on the general product of business line of the
company. This categorization system assigns every business an SIC (Standard
Industrial Classification) code. A new system of categorization called the North
American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) is in the process of being
implemented. The industry classification allow you to compare like companies and
industries.
Directories may contain one or both of these codes.
SIC Search Online
[http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html] (find an SIC Code) print manual
Ready REF HF1042 .A55
Links to companies by
SIC Code (Price Waterhouse Coopers) [http://bamboo.tc.pw.com/EdgarScan/sic_list.html]
Financial Records
Lexis-Nexis "Help" provides an excellent description of company
financial records (click and read).
To find company financial statements, income statements, balance sheets and
financial ratios select from the following Print Sources or go to Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe, click Business, then Company Financial,
type in company name, select a Source from the pull down menu, select Date
from the pull down menu, then click Search.
You can find some financial information in a company's annual report. See Annual
Reports below.
EDGAR
Database Online annual reports from SEC
Paper Copy: A small, selective collection of annual reports for publicly-traded companies is available in the General Collection. The call numbers on these reports all begin with HD63. A TITLE search of the company name in the Randall Online Catalog will tell you if the Library owns a paper copy for a specific company.
Microfiche: Annual reports for all companies traded on the New York, American, or OTC Stock Exchanges are available in a microfiche collection called SEC File (Microfiche HG4028.B2 S4). Formerly known as Q-file, reports are available in this collection back to 1983. The company name index to the collection is at Ready REF HG4028.B2 S4. Photocopying machines are available for the microfiche ($.10 per page).
Current News
To Search for current news articles in Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe, click on Business, then Business
News. You can limit your articles to Business & Finance, Industry News
or Mergers & Acquisitions (see below). As with any Lexis-Nexis search
remember to select a Date before clicking search. For advanced search
click More Options.
Lexis-Nexis Tip
This form's source selections are: