this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Art & Art History - Databases



Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

Start Here

Bibliography of the History of Art
1973 - present
(more information)

Art Abstracts
1984 - present
(more information)

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
This database offers images, text and multimedia representing a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums. It highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms.
(more information)

EBSCOHost
For Art & Art History searching, try clicking on any combination of the following databases:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • America: History & Life,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities Index International,
  • MLA International Bibliography.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location.
(more information)

IIPA Full Text
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text is a performing arts journal resource with nearly 350,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text, covering film, theatre and dance.
4 simultaneous users
1864 - present
(more information)

JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)

WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)

Other Suggestions

Anthropological Index Online
Search engine to Citations of anthropology articles from the Royal Anthropological Institute
Free
1970 - present
(more information)

Anthropological Literature
Citations to anthropology and archaeology, some art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
One simultaneous user
1880's - present
(more information)

Architecture Database
Royal Institute of British Architects, available through Mediated Search, inquire at Reference Desk.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
1974-1983
Index Collection AM 1 .A7

Art Index
1929-current
Index Collection N 1.A437

Art Literature International (RILA)
Coverage of all aspects of Western art from late antiquity (4th century) through 1989, available through Mediated Search, inquire at Reference Desk.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Coverage of literature of the 19th and 20th century art and design, available through Mediated Search, inquire at Reference Desk.

Art & Humanities Search
International, multidisciplinary database, available through Mediated Search, inquire at Reference Desk.

Clase and Periodica
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Clase: 1975 - present
Periodica: 1978 - present
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Encyclopedia Mythica
More than 5900 definitions of mythology, folklore and legend.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information on Ethnic NewsWatch)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
1988 - present

Film Literature Index Online
Film Literature Index Online annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Free
1972-2001
(more information)

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
1936 - present

Historic Documents
Contains 32 volumes of primary sources, including approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
(more information)

Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature of world history
1950 - present
(more information)

International Medieval Bibliography
Bibliography of articles in journals and conference proceedings, essay collections, etc. Worldwide coverage. Click on the Enter Databases button. On the next page click on the "Go" button.
3 simultaneous users - Please log out when finished
1967 - present
(more information)

North Carolina ECHO
Exploring Cultural Heritage Online. Access to special collections in North Carolina libraries, archives, and museums.

Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art: RILA
1975 - 1989
Index Collection N 5300 .A437

Women Artists on Disc
This is a comprehensive bibliography of women artist and an authoritative resource to wide-ranging reference materials on women's art history in the Western World. This CD-ROM integrates four classic, annotated bibliographic works: Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900, Women Artists in the United States: A Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide in the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986, Women Artists and Designers in Europe Since 1800: An Annotated Bibliography, and Feminist Art Criticism: An Annotated Bibliography. Please ask at the reference desk for help with this resource.

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: 21 August, 2008 14:32