Anthropology - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Sue Cody |
| Email: |
| codys@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7409 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: sueann53 |
eHRAF Archaeology (New Interface, beta version)
eHRAF World Cultures (New Interface, beta version)
Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1975 – present
(more information)
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present
(more information on Applied social Sciences Index and Abstracts)
Books In Print
Records describe in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers.
(more informationon Books In Print)
ChoiceReviews.online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Sept. 1988 - present
(more information on CINAHL)
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more informationon Dissertation Abstracts)
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information on Europa)
Europa World
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. See the reference desk for username and password information. 910-962-3760
(more information on ERIC)
GEOBASE
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
1980 - present
(more informationon GEOBASE)
Government Periodicals Universe
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Journal article citations and citations to books, along with abstracts. Arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Humanities International Index
Citations to art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and world history
(more information)
North Carolina ECHO
Exploring Cultural Heritage Online. Access to special collections in North Carolina libraries, archives, and museums.
Oxford Journals
Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.
ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.
1952 - present
(more information on Sociological Abstracts)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink includes resources in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Especially useful for citation searching. Our subscription includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 2002-date.
(more informationon Web of Science)
World FactBook
Database of country profiles produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Free
(more information)
WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
1975 - present
(more information on Worldwide Political Science Abstracts)
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: February 18, 2008