Sage eReference
Search through 45 eReference encyclopedias from Sage Publications, Inc.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online offers full text access to more than 485 journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology.
Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn maps of North Carolina
Late 19th - Mid-20th Centuries
(more information on Sanborn Maps)
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
SciELO is a multinational effort to provide open access to scientific research journals produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain.
1990s - present
Free
(more information on SciELO)
Science Citation Index Expanded
A multidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature of the sciences.
2002 - present
ScienceDirect
Offers access to some of the Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism.
1995 - present
(more information on ScienceDirect)
SciFinder Scholar
Premiere bibliographic and reference research tool for research in chemistry. SciFinder Scholar can
be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or
author's name. SciFinder Scholar requires installation of client software to use. For more
information on accessing this database, please contact the library's Reference Desk, 910-962-3760.
This resource is for UNCW students, faculty, and staff only.
2 simultaneous users. For installation on UNCW campus computers,
Download SciFinder Scholar client software. Off campus
access is not available at this time.
(more information on Scifinder Scholar)
Scitation Database
The Scitation Database provides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides abstracts for the more than 80 journals published by the American Institute of Physics and it member societies.
Free with registration
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive - (SORA)
The SORA project is an open access electronic journal archive providing access to an extensive ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
1884 - 2002
Free
(more information)
Serials Directory
Journal price, e-mail and Internet address.
(more information on Serials Directory)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary section of the Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the social sciences.
2002 - present
(more information on Social Sciences Citation Index)
Social Services Abstracts
Current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
1979 - present
(more information on Social Services Abstracts)
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.
1952 - present
(more information on Sociological Abstracts)
Spanish Reference Center
Features 47,000 articles; 8,300 photos and images; 390 maps and 500 tables and PlanetaSaber encyclopedia. It is a great resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and anyone learning Spanish.
(more information on Spanish Reference Center)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and fitness, sports and sports medicine.
Monographs: 1945 - present
Journals: 1975 - present
(more information on SPORTDiscus)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink offers online access to several fully peer reviewed journals in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (on campus) (off campus/wireless-temporarily unavailable)
Business and financial data.
(more information on Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
State Academies of Science Abstracts
Covers all of the major science disciplines and serves as an authoritative reference on research specific to your state and region.
(more information on State Academies of Science Abstracts)
State Data Center
North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.
Free
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Website from the U.S. Census Bureau. The paper version or CD version is available at the Reference Desk.
Free
(more information on Statistical Abstract of the U.S.)
Statistical Universe - see LexisNexis Statistical
Statistics of U.S. Business
U.S. Census Bureau.
Free
STAT-USA
U.S. government business and trade information. Password required inquire at Reference Desk.
(more information on STAT-USA)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Select the "Medical Dictionary" link once connected to Health Source Plus: Nursing/Academic Edition.
Last Update: April 22, 2008